36 liked this page.
Date Shared: 
Friday, November 9, 2018 - 08:10

The Recognised Seasonal Employers Scheme (RSE)

New Zealand, Kiribati, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu
GCM Thematic Cluster Areas: 
Irregular migration and regular pathways
Labour-Market Matching, Temporary and Circular Labour Migration

In 2007, New Zealand introduced the Recognised Seasonal Employers (RSE) Scheme to fill seasonal labour shortages in the horticulture and viticulture industries. Under this scheme, employers can apply for RSE status and then apply to fill vacant seasonal positions for which there are no New Zealand applicants.

At present, seven Pacific countries hold Inter-Agency Understandings with New Zealand: Kiribati, Samoa, the Solomon Islands, Tonga, Papua New Guinea, Tuvalu, and Vanuatu. Migrants from the Pacific may be issued visas to remain in New Zealand for up to seven months (nine months for migrants from Kiribati and Tuvalu) and may be selected and approved to return in following seasons. Pre-departure resources in the form of an RSE Get Ready Booklet (available in the relevant Pacific languages), Pay Slip Sample, and 'Get Ready' DVD are provided to the respective Pacific Governments and New Zealand employers for dissemination to their workers. Among other things, employers are required to pay for half of their employee's international air fare, and ensure that workers have access to suitable accommodation, medical insurance, translation, access to religious and cultural activities, food and health services. Any worker deductions must be agreed and pre-approved to ensure they are reasonable. Workers admitted under this program cannot transfer to another type of visa and are required to return at the end of their visa/contract. The RSE category has up to 9,000 places available nationally per year.

GFMD Source: 

GFMD 2018 - Background Paper RT Session 1.1 "Harnessing the capacity of migrants to realise their potential"