65 liked this page.
Date Shared: 
Friday, November 9, 2018 - 08:13

MERCOSUR Residence Agreement

Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay
Legal Framework on Migration (e.g., convention, bilateral agreements, etc), Remittances

Nationals of signatory States may apply for a temporary residence permit of up to two years in another country of the block, and may apply for permanent residence before expiration of the temporary residence permit. These nationals are also provided work permits, the only requirements being that they present a valid passport, birth certificate and police clearance certificate.

The beneficiaries of the Residence Agreements will enjoy the same rights and civil, social, cultural and economic freedoms as nationals of the host country. They have, for example, the right to engage in any activity - on their own or for third parties - under the same conditions as nationals; the right to family reunion; and the right to make remittances. The children of immigrants born in the territory of one of the signatory States will have the right to birth registration and to a nationality, according to the legislation of each country.

GFMD Source: 

GFMD 2018 - Background Paper RT Session 1.1 "Harnessing the capacity of migrants to realise their potential"